How does it feel to see your Facebook ads not generating conversions? We imagine your frustration, which, however, can be overcome.
If your Facebook ads aren’t generating conversions, know that you’re not alone. This happens to more businesses advertising on Facebook than you might think. It’s no secret that there are many complexities within Meta Business Manager. From your audience lists, to your Meta pixel, to ad creative and everything in between, identifying the culprit behind your lack of conversions can feel like finding a needle in a haystack.
Don’t get yourself down if you find yourself staring at your screen asking, “Why aren’t my Facebook ads converting?” Instead, take a look at this handy list of reasons why your Facebook ads aren’t converting and the steps you can take to get back on track!
Why Your Facebook Ads Aren’t Converting and How to Fix It
Not generating conversions from your Facebook ads for your business? Here are some reasons why and how to fix them.
1. Your Landing Page Isn’t Optimized for Conversions
The first place to look when your Facebook ads aren’t converting is your landing page. You might have the best-performing Facebook ads in the world but if your website isn’t optimized for conversions, you’re going to struggle to see the results from your campaigns. When you see your Facebook ads generating clicks but no conversions, you can assume something went wrong in the transition along the buyer’s journey.
What to Do
Try putting yourself in your ideal customer’s shoes. Compare your ad and your landing page side-by-side to ensure that you’re maintaining consistency in your messaging. You might also consider using a page speed test, mobile site test, or website grader tool to ensure your site loads quickly and provides an optimal user experience across all devices.
More importantly, check that the conversion actions you want users to complete are clearly communicated on the page. Also, all actions should be easy and fast to complete. Even if you’re leveraging Facebook lead ads, where a viewer doesn’t have to click to a landing page to convert, you’ll need a simple and short form to make conversions as easy to get as possible.
2. Your Meta Pixel Isn’t Set Up Correctly
Your Meta pixel (formerly known as the Facebook pixel) is the hub for everything related to tracking and reporting for Facebook ads. It’s what connects your Facebook ads to your data sources, like your website, so that your campaigns know which actions to track.
What to Do
To check how your Facebook ad conversion tracking is currently set up, go to the Events Manager section of your Meta business manager account. There you can see which “events” (i.e., conversion actions) you’ve set up. From there, you’ll be prompted to troubleshoot any conversion tracking issues.
3. Your Ad Copy Isn’t Clear
For every Facebook ad you put out, it’s important to have a clear call to action for your target audience. If you don’t use clear calls to action, your audience may not understand what will happen after they see your Facebook ad. This can easily lead to a lack of Facebook ad conversions.
What to Do
To prevent your Facebook ads from not converting due to poor ad copy, try including power words that inspire users to take action.
Don’t be afraid to specify exactly what conversion action your ad is intended to achieve. You might also want to revisit your Facebook ad objectives to funnel the purpose behind your ad copy.
4. You’re Talking to the Wrong Audience
The people who you think may convert on your Facebook ads could be different from the people who will actually become customers for your business. It’s important to understand your audience, what resonates with them, and the best way to reach them in order to generate more conversions from your Facebook ads.
What to Do
Even though you may have done some initial research into your target market, try digging deeper and using a more creative Facebook ad audience-targeting strategy. For example, if you’re promoting your higher education program through Facebook ads, you might want to target people whose interests include entertainment like live events. Even though this interest isn’t directly related to higher education, young adults looking to further their education likely also enjoy going to live sports games or concerts.
5. Ad Fatigue
I think we can all probably understand why ad fatigue could cause Facebook ads to not convert. Have you ever seen the same ad over and over to the point where you’re sick of seeing it? The last thing you want is to oversaturate your target audience with the same Facebook ad.
What to Do
You can check if this might be the case in your Facebook ad campaign or ad set report view. Select the delivery column option to view the frequency metric. Frequency is the estimated number of times the average member of your audience has seen your ad. The higher the frequency of your Facebook ads, the more often members of your audience have seen your ads more than one occasion.
When ad frequency increases to about 5-10, it’s usually time to update your ad. However, in situations where targeting is a bit more limited, such as if you were targeting a retargeting list, a higher number for ad frequency is more common.
To avoid this Facebook ad conversion killer, try regularly changing your ad copy when you see frequency start to increase. You could make small changes, like A/B testing your ad copy, creative, or CTA buttons.
Another option to avoid high ad frequency is, of course, to change your targeting so that your ads are shown to new users. It’s best to have a variety of Facebook ad targeting strategies in your account. For example, you might serve one ad set to a custom audience and another ad set to a behavior or interest-based audience. That way, you can swap out different ads to different people.
6. Your Campaign Objective Isn’t Aligned with Your Goals
Believe it or not, Facebook’s ad algorithm can help you convert your campaigns. You just have to tell it what to do. Your campaign objective tells Facebook’s machine learning how to best serve your ad.
What to do
If it helps, think of your Facebook ad campaign objectives like you would a Google Ads campaign objective or a Google Ads bid strategy. When you select your Facebook ad campaign objective, you are telling it what you want to optimize for. Facebook’s Ads Manager even states that “your campaign objective should align with your overall business goals.”
There are tons of different campaign objectives to choose from, so there’s no right or wrong answer as to which you’ll end up with. However, it might take a bit of trial and error with a few campaigns to see which objective brings you the most Facebook ad conversions.
7. Your budget or spend limit is too low
The common saying, “you have to spend money to make money” certainly applies to Facebook ads. While you want to keep an eye on Facebook ad costs, you don’t want to cap your campaigns with limited budgets or rigid spend limits that could cause your ads to not show.
What to do
If you’re using daily Facebook ad budgets with a campaign spend limit, for instance, you might run out of your budget too quickly each day, limiting your chances for conversions.
Meanwhile, lifetime Facebook ad budgets can cause your campaign to run out of its allotted budget before maximizing conversion opportunities within a given timeframe.
You can usually tell that this is the cause of a conversion drop when your budgets and spend limits are not in line with the average Facebook ad cost-per-click. For example, if you have a daily budget of $10, and the average Facebook ad cost-per-click is $2, you’re only affording yourself a few chances for someone to click and convert each day.
I know that having huge marketing budgets dedicated to Facebook ads isn’t always feasible, and that’s okay! However, it’s best to have flexibility with your Facebook ad campaign budgets.
8. You haven’t given your ads enough time to generate conversions
I always joke that the hardest part of PPC is patience! Every Facebook ad campaign goes through a “learning period” when it first starts running. During the learning period, Facebook’s ad algorithm tests how to best serve your ad in different ways to maximize results. This can lead to fluctuation in results initially.
What to do
The length of the learning period can vary depending on what you’re trying to achieve with your campaign. With that said, the typical learning period has been known to last up to two weeks. Ideally, I try to give campaigns up to 30 days to gather as much data as possible before making a decision on what may or may not be working.
Aside from the learning period, you might find that you have a longer sales cycle. This can, of course, lead to lower conversion rates as members of your audience may need to see an ad multiple times before making the leap to become a lead. Additionally, we know that people need to see something from your business at least seven times before they commit to a purchase decision.
9. Your Facebook ads are converting… indirectly
This last reason for your Facebook ads not converting can be tricky to diagnose, but it’s useful to be aware of. Your Facebook ads might be very effective at moving your prospects through your sales funnel, however, they end up converting elsewhere down the line.
It’s highly likely that viewers absorb your Facebook ad but then move on to other platforms like Google or YouTube to learn more about your business and ultimately convert.
What to do
Of course, tracking conversions across all platforms isn’t an easy task. However, if you regularly check your PPC reports across all platforms, you might notice increases in conversions from other marketing channels. If such an increase correlates with the dates of your latest Facebook ad campaign, you can assume that your Facebook ads are influencing your customers.
Additionally, you can set up privacy-focused Facebook ad tracking for offline conversions and other conversion types that suit your specific business.
Facebook Ads Not Converting? You Can Fix It!
Discovering that your Facebook ads aren’t converting is never a fun experience. However, using a handy checklist like this one can help you pinpoint opportunities to improve your strategy and promote your business through the power of Facebook and social ads.
To recap, here are the top nine reasons why your Facebook ads might not be converting:
- Your landing page isn’t optimized for conversions
- Your Meta pixel is not set up correctly
- The ad copy isn’t clear
- You’re engaging with the wrong audience
- Your audience is tired of the ads
- Your campaign objective isn’t aligned with your goals
- Your budget or spend limit is too low
- You haven’t given your ads enough time to generate conversions
- Your Facebook ads are converting.indirectly
Source WordStream
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